Indianapolis, December 4-8, 2013

Four past or present USATF-New England board members were recognized with President’s Awards at the USATF National Annual Meeting last week. The awards are given annually to the people who have worked diligently and admirably in USATF volunteer ranks within their associations or committees. Only 8 were presented in 2013. The USATF-NE winners:

Laurie Boemker (Cranston RI) has been a TAC/USATF official since 1983, an NCAA official since 1983 and a high school official since 1980. She is NE Officials Certification chair, and chair of the IAAF National Technical Officials Subcommittee. She was a member of the 1971 U.S. Pan American team.

Dave Dunham is a founding member of the USATF Mountain, Ultra & Trail (MUT) Running Council and founded the New England Mountain Running Circuit. He served as a staff member of the US Mountain Running Team from 1992 to 2009, and was the Chairperson for USATF New England Mountain, Ultra & Trail Running from 1995 to 2002.

Justin Kuo does it all as a volunteer for USATF for many years in several different areas. Kuo has been a national certifier for road race courses while serving as the vice chair of the Road Running Technical Committee, chair for the USA Records Committee, and is involved as an official. He has managed the USATF-NE website since it was started, and is involved with the Boston Marathon.

Kathy Nary has been on the USA Women's Long Distance Running Executive Committee since 1996 and currently serves as Vice Chair. She has been instrumental in taking care of the selection of international teams and staffs for over a decade and works tirelessly to support USATF and its athletes. Nary has held many USATF-NE positions as well as actively involved with USADA enforcing drug testing policies at several national championships.

We thank them for their service to the sport locally and nationally!