Sanca, Sabadosa win road race Grand Prix titles

Ruben Sanca (Whirlaway RT) and Apryl Sabadosa (Western Mass Distance Project) top the 2017 USATF-NE Road Race Grand Prix standings following the season ending marathon championships on October 22. 

While both runners had enough points to win prior to the marathon, they chose to contest the Ashworth Associates BayState Marathon on Sunday, and each underlined their season with second place finishes. The 2017 scoring was the first series to award 20 places / points deep in the open division, and the two victors were the sole runners to top 100 points through the six races (the 15 km being cancelled due to weather).

The only compeitor to "run the table" was Christin Doneski, who led the W45 division in all six events.  Ginger Reiner had a pair of top 3 division placings,having aged up to W40 during the year. Reiner (Craft Concept Racing) won her four races at 40 years old to place second to Leslie O'Dell (CMS), and also continued to score in the open division, finishing well enough to rank tied for second overall open.

Alan Bernier (CMS) led the M40 divsion in the marathon and moved up for the series win in the only men's division to change leaders in the final event.  Greg Putnam (CMS) was 4 for 4 in the races he contested, and John Hackney (GMAA) also had four wins to go with two seconds to win in M70.

Scoring numbers grew in the oldest age groups in 2017, with new participation highs of ten M75 and five M80 point winners along with five W70 scorers.

Full year scoring can be found at